RSS

Getting to know the bastard (health)

26 Apr

In the aftermath of the sprained ankle, I’m learning more about how the bastard — aka Chronic Fatigue Syndrome — is affecting me.

What I’ve noticed is that when I’m almost completely sedentary, I don’t need any more rest/sleep than anyone else. But doing anything triggers fatigue way out of proportion to the exertion. I have no reserves.

This is, in its way, useful information. It helps me plan around bigger days. But my CV fitness is plummeting during this period, too, as I notice any time I use my crutches. I really need to get into physical therapy for both the ankle and for upper-body-based cardio maintenance, but that’s tough to do in the midst of a long-distance move.

I’ll call a prospective primary care provider in NC this coming week to try to get an appointment for the next.

So, the new information about my CFS is good to know in a general, epistemic way, but I don’t particularly like the implications.

But the bastard didn’t ask my consent. All I can do is manage and adapt.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 26, 2014 in Daily Life, Health

 

3 responses to “Getting to know the bastard (health)

  1. Yingtai

    May 1, 2014 at 2:02 am

    That bastard!

    I love what you said about consent. I’ll never forget the look on my dom’s face when he was nursing me through some horrific cramps and a particularly bad one made me involuntarily safeword.

     
    • nagadikandang

      May 1, 2014 at 6:07 am

      Yingtai,

      Love the response, if not the reason! On a lighter note, before the Bastard came into my life, I’d just started getting fit with a personal trainer (which may well have contributed…) When I called “Red” on one exercise, he just about busted a gut. 🙂

       
      • Yingtai

        May 1, 2014 at 4:39 pm

        LOL!!!

         

Any and all thoughts welcome

 
